This Article Has Moved.

[This post has moved]

  1. #1 by manasclerk on April 1, 2007 - 3:02 pm

    I suppose that I can live with these drawbacks. Having lived a year on a Linux desktop, “free” or “cheap” don’t really mean what you think they mean. TCO seems to be about the same as the Mac at work.

    But it’s nice to have this warning to be prepared 😉

  2. #2 by Mike Peter Reed on April 2, 2007 - 4:56 am

    Number 10 nails it! My household now has 2 iBooks, 1 PowerBook, 1 MacBook, 3 iPods, 1 iPod Hi-Fi and 2 AirPort Express with handy-dandy printserver and AirTunes. All off the back of a 12″ PowerBook purchase way back in 2003 …

  3. #3 by Neurotic Nomad on April 4, 2007 - 12:22 pm

    For me, it started out as a used Blue & White Power Mac G3 running 10.3.5.

    I bought it to run Final Cut Pro 4.5 (very slowly). It worked so well, I bought a dual G5 when 10.4 Tiger was released. Then my wife got an iPod…

    Now, an AppleTV is in my dreams, and an iPhone is in my wife’s.

  4. #4 by Bill on April 4, 2007 - 3:43 pm

    Well Nomad, I owe you one. I did not know what to get my wife as a present. iPhone is a great idea.

    Thanks!

  5. #5 by Dick Moore on April 9, 2007 - 10:27 am

    Great shot of the I-90 bridge over the Columbia, Nomad!

  6. #6 by Neurotic Nomad on April 9, 2007 - 11:00 am

    Thanks. I shot it out of the passenger side window of the moving van as we were rolling into Seattle in 2004.

    Now I’m about to roll back out.

  7. #7 by Mike on March 6, 2008 - 5:20 am

    number 6 : quality hardware ? Give me a break, apple uses the same oem hardware that is in every pc on the planet. For imac just buy any brand sodimm and of you go.

  8. #8 by krupt on June 11, 2008 - 1:40 pm

    i would like to see a list on the cons of switching from mac to pc… all i read online anymore is a bunch of articles written by people trying to find problems with the mac.

  9. #9 by Patrick on November 21, 2008 - 12:56 pm

    “writes it’s own OS” should be “writes its own OS”.

  10. #10 by Partners in Grime on November 21, 2008 - 6:03 pm

    11. Not knowing what to do with all the SpySweeper and Anti-virus software.

  11. #11 by Raam Dev on November 21, 2008 - 10:12 pm

    12. Nothing is ever on sale. I no longer worry that I’m being ripped off when buying tech gear. Apple’s price-fixing was annoying at first (no such thing as a real Apple product “sale”) but eventually it became comforting. I never feel like I need to worry about “looking around for the best price”.

  12. #12 by Felix on November 26, 2008 - 8:43 am

    Great article, NN! My 10 quick comments:

    1. Being a Windows-to-Mac switcher myself, I’ve got nothing to add to this one. True, true, true.
    2. It’s not that different, after all. Just a hell of a lot better.
    3. I think there are adapters. Old hardware has a penchant for never going away, kinda like senators.
    4. True. But Mac lovers are just so helpful, they tend to jump out of your screen and fix your problem themselves, kinda like a whole community of superheroes. Weird, but nice.
    5. True. But lately you also draw a lot of gawkers. You can’t open in public any old tattered AlBook without people going, “Aaaaaaah!”
    6. Nah. Since the switch to Intel, RAM is dirt cheap. (Of course, if you try to upgrade your Lombard…)
    7. I’ve got just one word for you: Perian.
    8. True, but since the switch to Intel you can usually buy anything, and it’ll just work.
    9. ‘Nuff said.
    10. That’s so not a joke, I can’t even begin to tell you. I have a mind that Apple rigs their stuff with cocaine or caffeine, or something.

  13. #13 by Matt on December 10, 2008 - 7:13 pm

    #10 is so true it hurts.

    I’m with Felix: Get Perian if you need support for more video formats. Flip4Mac is OK, but Perian is also 100% free.

    I’ve made some risks buying hardware that claims to have no Mac support and never had an issue. Granted, I consider myself a power user, so I’m willing to do things like flash EEPROMs and download experimental drivers.

    You can totally get cheap RAM for Macs, especially since the Intel switch. Just do some basic internet searches and you’ll find all sorts of stuff. Personally, I’ve (or my dad for his Macs) always gone for cheap RAM to be freindly on my wallet. One Centris 650, PowerMac G3 (beige desktop), DA PowerMac G4 (when 733MHz was top of the line), 2 Dual 867 MDD PowerMac G4s, 1 Dual 2.5 PowerMac G5, original graphite iMac DVse, and late 2008 MacBook Pro later… All is well. (Between my parents and I there’ve been some older Macs too, but I don’t remember any RAM upgrades. Sadly, of all the computers listed, only the G5, DA G4, 2 MDD’s, and… oh! TWO MBPs are still in use. Oh! And there was a G3 white iBook in there too, but that thing died. The only Mac I’ve ever had die on me. /cry)

  1. The Switch - Part 1 - Getting Ready « IS Department
  2. Reaction to the Mac Thing… : A Few Thoughts
  3. My Macinations » Blog Archive » The Cons of Switching from Windows to Mac. Ten Quick Ones.
