What does the word “epic” mean? Is that like “episodic”?

From: J**** B** (*********@*******.***)
To: Gerald (neuroticnomad@gmail.com)
Date: May 21, 2010 1:31:28 PM PDT
Subject: Acting, Writing and Day Jobs

I’m shooting a movie on Sunday…small role in an indy film. Should be fun…we’re shooting on campus at UNT…which I’m sure is going to swamp me with memories of life right before I met you. Crazy, huh? I haven’t really been on campus since then. I went to a few shows over there of Mark’s (guy I used to work with at GTE) but that was at one of the bars on the outskirts of campus. Remember Farmer Brown? That guy. Oh wait, you’ve been to one of those with me, hadn’t you? Anyway, I’m sure this will be fun if it doesn’t rain. Lol…

My character’s name is B**** T******. I’m this 30-something year old guy that hangs around on college campus and basically “manages” a street dancer chick. So, clearly something is wrong with me. She loses a big dance off right there on the street and I yell at her for it. Lol… I think I even get to do an improv rant to buy time while the main characters take their “Prize” from us and move on. I don’t get to drop any F-bombs though, which is a real shame since that’s like second nature to me.

In the mean time, I’m doing my day job on my laptop and working on my notes for my script and trying to map out how I want this to work. Question…does the term “epic” for a screenplay mean the same thing as it does a book? Start in the middle, go back to the beginning and work through to the end? Or is it something different?

How’s your eyeballs doing now? Still as bad as last week?


From: Gerald (neuroticnomad@gmail.com)
To: J**** B** (*********@*******.***)
Date: May 26, 2010 11:57:33 AM PDT
Subject: Re: Acting, Writing and Day Jobs

I’m shooting a movie on Sunday…small role in an indy film.

There are no small roles, but motherfucker there are some pretty small actors out there, let me tell you. Especially when there’s no money and long days. Sheesh.

Should be fun…we’re shooting on campus at UNT…which I’m sure is going to swamp me with memories of life right before I met you. Crazy, huh?

I don’t remember your life before I was in it, because I wasn’t there.

I haven’t really been on campus since then. I went to a few shows over there of Mark’s (guy I used to work with at GTE) but that was at one of the bars on the outskirts of campus. Remember Farmer Brown? That guy.

C and I were jamming to “Lawn” just a few weeks ago. We even have the proper cover art for it in iTunes. (The CD is in storage in Texas).

Oh wait, you’ve been to one of those with me, hadn’t you? Anyway, I’m sure this will be fun if it doesn’t rain. Lol…

I thiiiink so.

My character’s name is B**** T******. I’m this 30-something year old guy that hangs around on college campus and basically “manages” a street dancer chick.

A scumbag.

So, clearly something is wrong with me. She loses a big dance off right there on the street and I yell at her for it. Lol… I think I even get to do an improv rant to buy time while the main characters take their “Prize” from us and move on. I don’t get to drop any F-bombs though, which is a real shame since that’s like second nature to me.

You’re the guy she hates enough to do all the stuff in Act II.

In the mean time, I’m doing my day job on my laptop and working on my notes for my script and trying to map out how I want this to work. Question…does the term “epic” for a screenplay mean the same thing as it does a book? Start in the middle, go back to the beginning and work through to the end? Or is it something different?

Epic just means big. Episodic means many chapters. Non-linear means time jumps around. A saga is an epic episodic story that may or may not be linear.

How’s your eyeballs doing now? Still as bad as last week?

Doctor increased my drugs so I’m a horror show. It’s half-over now. Two more weeks then I wake up from the nightmare.

But then walking around my neighborhood cheers me up.

HI, Youra Dumnass

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

